Lessons


Lesson VII – Pre- and Postpositions, Noun Cases, Phrase Verbs

In Black Speech, prepositions (from, in, of, to, by, etc.) are suffixed to the noun they modify (thus becoming postpositions). However, this rule is often ignored in hasty speech, especially when orcs curse one another (and for preposition “to”). The following examples are grammatically correct, although orcs sometimes incorrectly place the prepositions before the word when they are speaking to one another (another example of Debased Black Speech).

Below is the table of all prepositions attested in Black Speech. It was heavily modified, expanded and complicated comparing to original Scatha's lesson. I and II are declensions of nouns (ending with consonant and vowel respectively).

Postposition  Meaning Examples Remarks on usage
I sing. II sing. I pl. II pl. Black Speech Translation
-as -zas -asu -zasu across dot-as across the sea *
-bo -boz off thop-bo off the rock In English it's mostly used with phrasal verbs, it's better to invent special translations for them. When it's not it could be replaced with “-ghâra” (= from).
-bug -bugu against, opposite to durub-bug against the ruler *
-dhog -dhogu near, next to, (near)by Orodruin-dhog next to Orodruin   
-ghâra -ghâraz from Lugbûrz-ghâra  from Lugbûrz  
-gus -gusu about Morgoth-gus about Morgoth Tell regarding, mention somebody or something
For approximate time of ending an action or interval use “-kurn” (= around) instead. For approximate place use also “-dhog” (= near).
-ik -zik -iku -ziku before, by (some time), in front of agon-ik before dusk Can be used to indicate place (“kneel before your lord”). When used to indicate time, it is supposed that action will be definitely finished (Perfect tenses). When used with dependent clauses (i.e. “before it explodes”, “before the first beam of sun will show up”) it's written separately and preceeding them. Because such examples are more often, this word has tendency of being used as real preposition with nouns too, which are placed in Instrumental case (-irzi = by): “ik agon-irzi” (lit.: before dusk-by).
-ir -r -iru -ru on anar on the edge Also marks regular time intervals (on Mondays, on holidays etc.), but if you want say “on (next) Monday” use “-shi” (= at).
-irzi -rzi -irziz -rziz by, via, by mean(s) of, by use of, with use of

(Instrumental or Ergative case suffix)
grish-irzi by blood Use it in passive constructions, to indicate usage of instrument, means, etc. Also means moving or transporting via some environment or media: “Skâtubut dot-irzi” (= They will come by sea), “hîst Internet-irzi” (= send via Internet, if it existed in Middle-Earth). If you mean “(near)by” (i.e.: by the lake) then use “-dhog” (= near, next to) or “-or” (= at) instead. If you mean ending an action by some time, then use “-ik” (= before) or “-zi” (= until) instead.
-ish -sh -ishu -shu (Accusative or Objective case suffix) Uruk honat golug-ish Orc sees an elf Actually not a preposition, but a marker of direct object, which corresponds to Accusative case in many languages. With nouns it is used only to avoid ambiguity because in most sentences where is subject and where is object is clear from context and word order (and Nominative case is used then). It's more often used with pronouns. It can be employed in poetry with fluent word order.
-ishi -shi -ishiz -shiz in, within, inside, into Mordor-ishi in(to) Mordor While canonical translation by Tolkien himself is “in”, it's better to use next meanings in the list clarifying the meaning better. If you want to answer the question like “where is it?” better use “-or” (= at). You can notice that form -shi for Declension II is the same as preposition meaning “at” which has similar meaning but without a tone of belonging or moving to interior part of smth.
-it -ht -itu -htu behind druht behind tree *
-kurn -kurnu around masl-kurn around the neck *
-la -laz after zabûrz-la after tonight often written separately (see comments to -ik suffix)
-lata -lataz under, beneath, below nût-lata under the sky *
-lût -lûtu out of, outside Orthanc-lût out of Orthanc Indicates motion outside, leaving a place, transformation of material.
-nâdar -nâdaru among glob-nâdar amongst the filth *
-ob -b -obu -bu of (Genitive or Possessive case suffix) Nazgûl-ob of the Nazgûl You may think that if noun is ending with au adding -b could make confusion with some verb ending with a in future tense (suffix -ub), but actually there are no such verbs in Shadowlandian. If verb stem is ending with u it will become long û in future tense, so no confusion also.
-or -r -oru -ru at (place) Orthanc-or at Orthanc Preferable over “-ishi” at answering questions like “where is it?”
-ri -riz between lug-riz between towers There were no examples by Scatha, so I've decided that if it's used with two different nouns, it should be added to both of them: “drâgh-ri agh ânghâsh-ri” (= between hammer and anvil).
-sha -shaz (together) with Saruman-sha ** with Saruman * Means collectivity, action shared with some person. If you want to express usage of tool, say “-irzi” (= by) instead. Example: “Kill with axe” is translated as “az pilik-irzi”, “Kill elf with that orc” = “az golug uruk-zasha” (this is also and example of bad order, it's not clear whether he should kill an elf with the help of that orc, or kill both elf and orc). However, if you want to say “Careful with that axe, Uglûk!” you can do it as “gakhumû pilik-zasha, Uglûk!”.
-shar -sharu among glob-shar amongst the filth * Do not use it, because it could be confused with “shara” (man) and “sharat” (to be quiet), and it seems to appear in LOS dictionary by mistake. There is an alternative “-nâdar”.
-shi -shiz at (time) bûrz-shi at night, at dark  
-shi -shiz at (place) Mordor-shi at Mordor  
-tala -talaz over, above uzg-tala over the land * Can indicate not only position but also exceeding time or quantity limit.
-thu -thuz beyond gothum-thu beyond power *
-tuk -tuku through tau-tuk through the forest *
-u -zu -uz*** -zuz to (place), towards (Dative case suffix) Mordor-u** to Mordor * Denotes motion towards something, changing ownership of an object. In BS it's often used with indirect objects, when transitive verb requires two objects, specially with names and pronouns. Example: “thrak nazg urukuz” = bring the ring to orcs.
-ugil -ugilu before ânash-ugil before dawn * “-ik” is more preferrable
-ulmakh -ulmakhu along mûl-ulmakh along the road *
-ûr -zûr -ûru -zûru for durub-ûr for the lord Also used to specify duration of action, the same as in English.
-zash -zashu like, same as glob-zash like fool  
-zi -ziz until ârsh-zi until today * Refers to time of ending continuous action.

* these words are often used as real prepositions placed before nouns, not postpositions as usual.

** note that the Tolkien orc curse, “sha Saruman” and “u Mordor” are both grammatically incorrect. Technically, the orc should have said, “Saruman-sha” and “Mordor-u”.

*** it could be confused with Past Tense suffix -uz (next lesson), see my comments about it at the end of the lesson.

Also note that in the Ring Verse, we have “lata nut” instead of “nut-lata”. It has been suggested that this was done to make the verse scan as poetry. By now you will have noticed that there are many examples in Black Speech where the speaker has placed the preposition before the noun. Therefore, this is probably a fairly flexible rule, especially in Debased Black Speech. However, for the purpose of learning Black Speech, try to observe the rule as much as possible when translating the lessons (at least for now). When you write preposition before the noun, preposition is always used in form of Declension I singular, and noun takes Objective/Accusative case (if not stated other; in most cases omitted in favor of Nominative) and required number suffix.

Strictly speaking, the prepositions should also become plural when they modify a plural noun, but I have only seen one example of that. It occurs in the Ring Verse, which is in Classical Black Speech, not Debased Black Speech. (Please remember that the full Ring Verse was translated by a Tolkien fan on the Tolklang board, not by Tolkien himself). The ring verse uses the plural “ûru” (for), as well as “ishiz” (in).

Excerpts from the Ring Verse:

Gakh Nazgu Golug-durub-uru lata-nut.
Three Rings for the Elven kings under the sky
[The word 'lords' is plural]

Udu Gazat-shakh-uru ulub ruz-ishiz gund-ob.
Seven for the Dwarf-lords in their halls of stone.
[The words 'lords' and 'halls' are both plural]

I think theese examples show that plural noun suffices should be placed after prepositions, not the fact of pluralizing prepositions.

It will be more correct to call these words postpositions, but I'll stick with more familiar term.


Exercise

Translate the following into grammatically correct Classical Black Speech.

You (sing.) will call the evil elves to Mordor.
The Nazgul bring all the cruel beasts from Gondor.*
The trolls find the warrior under the sky.
Sauron rules by evil.
Ugluk will gather the old men in Udun.
He stands in Mordor.
She will fool the trolls under the sky.
Saruman calls from Orthanc.
I stand by the Nazgul (plural).
The stupid troll kills near Ashluk.
You will devour the beast with Ugluk.
She brings the orc of Mordor to Moria.
Saruman rules over all the orcs.
The warrior kills for Sauron.
He brings the ring for the elves.
He brings the troll between Mordor and Orthanc.

(*note that the preposition modifies Gondor, not beasts!)


Joining two prepositions together

Whenever you have to use two prepositions together, you should join them with hyphens, although most orcs would never do this in Debased Black Speech. For example, if you want to say, “into Mordor” (Mordor + in + to) you would connect the prepositions this way: “Mordor-u-ishi”. But because this combination would be somewhat difficult to prounounce, most Orcs would simply say, “u Mordor-ishi”.


Uu-u – overusing “-u” suffix

If noun is ended with u (i.e. “mau” = warrior, “tau” = forest), place the preposition “to” before noun for clearance (u mau = to warrior). For plural nouns it's supposed to use -uz suffix (urbhuz = to the mountains), but again it may be confused with past tense suffix -uz (what “ghâshuz” means: “burned” or “to the fires”?) So my advice is to place preposition “to” before noun in this case too. If noun ending with u shall be put in plural form and combined with preposition “to”, you shall say “u tauz” (to the woods) for example instead of “tauzuz” for clarity.

Noun cases

Because some prepositions take the role of cases and all of them are suffixed to the nouns and pronouns, becoming postpositions, I suppose that Classical Black Speech have 30+ cases similar to Finno-Ugric languages. But because every of such suffixes took the meaning of both case and preposition, it's easier to learn them than if it were 4 – 8 cases used differently with several verbs and prepositions (like in Russian). Debased Black Speech and Orkish dialects however have a tendency to abandon cases and spell them separately before nouns like English prepositions.

Phrase verbs

Adding some prepositions after a verb modifies it's meaning in English. Such expressions are called “phrase verbs”. Black Speech doesn't have such constructions. Phrase verbs should have separate translation in one word. Unfortunately, majority of phrase verbs do not have such in dictionary, so try to find synonyms.



<< Previous lesson Index Next lesson >>


 

Comments

Scatha  2014-09-24, 04:01:03

Has anyone here ever tried the lessons? I think some of them may need some corrections and updates.  Let me know your thoughts.


bjornaxen  2016-06-08, 09:43:39

The Swedish LARP-orcish Svartiska was not really created by a single LARP-group but by the community of orc-larpers where different groups created different dialects.


bjornaxen  2017-12-15, 00:47:08

On pronunciation

There is an orc name that begins with y - Yagul - in The War of the Ring (The History of Middle Earth, vol. 8 )

I think Tolkien pronounce Mordor in Elvish, it is after all an Elvish name meaning Black land in Sindarin (or "shadows" in Quenya). It has nothing to do with pronunciation of the Black Speech.

And what about the sounds in the excercise: -qu- in "throqu-" and sr- in "srinkh-"? Especially -qu- seems out of place. Why not spell it kv or kw?


Un4givenOrc  2017-12-16, 10:01:39
bjornaxen wrote:

And what about the sounds in the excercise: -qu- in "throqu-" and sr- in "srinkh-"?

Yes, there as some issues with qu, specially when next letter is also u. Could be also spelled like Q. It appears only in words borrowed from elvish languages. I will replace it with something else if I would create new dialect.

I think there is nothing special with sr, for me it's easier to say than thr (thrakatulat).


bjornaxen  2017-12-23, 02:02:28

Does comparative and superlative adjectives, and adverbs mark plural?

The dark tower - lugbûrz; the darkest tower - lugbûrzaz; the darkest towers - lugbûrzazu

urukû ghâshuzat hîzarz lug "the old orc quickly burned the tower"; urukûz ghâshuzut hîzarzu lug "the old orcs quickly burned the tower"
---
edit 1. I saw that the adverb is not agreeing in number so: urukfuz ghâshuzut hîzarz lug
---
edit 2. I saw that I somehow confused the adjectives - this i now corrected.


Un4givenOrc  2017-12-23, 15:41:51

I think adverbs do not have plural form. Adjectives do in any form


bjornaxen  2017-12-25, 21:08:42

There are two collective plural, -hai and -ûk. In contrast to the ordinary plural these can be used with people and races. So we have uruk-hai (the orc people) as the most famous example. And then in the lessons (IV) there is an example of the -ûk ending used with  sharkû (old man) > sharkûk "all old men". So both the collective plurals can be used with people and races but what is the difference between them. What does sharkû-hai mean "all the old people" or maybe "the society of old men" or is it equivalent to sharkûk? Or is it just gibberish.


bjornaxen  2018-01-01, 16:47:30

In lesson XIII on suffix order, verbs collective #6 two endings are given, -ûk and -âzh. The -âzh ending is used with a verb 'ufubulâzh' (will frighten them slightly). I cannot find this -âzh in the lessons or in the wordlists (there is "azh (conj, HORN) "also").

It seems to mean "slightly" but then it is not a collective. Confusing


Un4givenOrc  2018-01-09, 13:27:04
bjornaxen wrote:

n the lessons (IV) there is an example of the -ûk ending used with  sharkû (old man) > sharkûk "all old men". So both the collective plurals can be used with people and races but what is the difference between them. What does sharkû-hai mean "all the old people" or maybe "the society of old men" or is it equivalent to sharkûk? Or is it just gibberish.

I think it's Scatha's mistake.
I don't like interpretation of -hai as collective plural suffix nor simply as "folk", "people of" etc. However I can't offer better one.

bjornaxen wrote:

n lesson XIII on suffix order, verbs collective #6 two endings are given, -ûk and -âzh. The -âzh ending is used with a verb 'ufubulâzh' (will frighten them slightly). I cannot find this -âzh in the lessons or in the wordlists (there is "azh (conj, HORN) "also").

I've added this shortly before my HDD crashed. Online version of dictionary is not updated still.
Here -uuk and -aazh are something like verb's aspect (perfect and "partial" respectively). Interpretation of "-uuk" as "completely", "fully" is taken from A. Nemirovsky's analysis



Please Log in or Register to leave a comment.

Уроки


Урок VII – Предлоги, падежные суффиксы, фразовые глаголы

В Чёрной Речи предлоги (из, в, к, около, и др.) добавляются как суффикс к существительному, к которому они относятся (становясь таким образом послеслогами). Хотя это правило часто игнорируется в спешке, особенно, когда орки ругаются друг с другом (а также для предлога “к”). Приведённые ниже примеры грамматически правильны, но орки иногда некорректно ставят предлоги перед словом, когда говорят между собой (еще один пример Искажённой Чёрной Речи).

Ниже представлена таблица всех предлогов, встречающихся в Чёрной Речи. Я позволил себе расширить, сильно изменить её вид и усложнить в сравнении с оригинальной из уроков от Scatha. I и II – это склонения существительных (оканчивающиеся на согласный и гласный соответственно).

Предлог  Значение Примеры Особенности употребления
I ед. ч. II ед. ч. I мн. ч. II мн. ч. Чёрная Речь Перевод
-as -zas -asu -zasu поперёк, через, по dot-as через море * движение по поверхности
-bo -boz с, со thop-bo со скалы Является аналогом английского предлога “off”, который чаще используется с фразовыми глаголами, которые лучше заменять отдельным словом. В других случаях лучше заменить этот предлог на “-ghâra” (= из, от).
-bug -bugu против, напротив durub-bug против правителя *
-dhog -dhogu у, рядом с, около (место) Orodruin-dhog около Ородруина   
-ghâra -ghâraz из, от, с, со Lugbûrz-ghâra  из Лугбурза  
-gus -gusu о, об Morgoth-gus о Морготе Рассказ, упоминание о ком-то или чём-то. Для перевода английского “about” в значении приблизительного времни окончания или продолжительности действия лучше использовать “-kurn” (= вокруг, around), в значении приблизительного места – “-dhog” (= рядом с, near). НЕ используется в сложных предложениях вроде “я расскажу тебе о том, как убивал эльфов”, лучше сказать просто “я расскажу тебе как убивал эльфов”.
-ik -zik -iku -ziku перед, до, к (какому-либо времени) agon-ik до заката Может указывать на место (“склонись пред своим повелителем”). При указании времени, предполагается, что действие завершится (совершённая форма глаголов / перфектные времена английского). При использовании с зависимыми предложениями (напр.: “до того, как оно взорвётся”, “прежде чем покажется первый луч солнца”), пишется раздельно и перед ними. И так как такие примеры встречаются чаще, это слово становится настоящим предлогом и с существительными, которые ставятся в творительный падеж (-irzi): “ik agon-irzi” (перед закатом, букв.: до закатом).
-ir -r -iru -ru на, по anar на краю Также обозначает регулярные временные интервалы (по понедельникам, по выходным и т.п.), но если вы хотите сказать “следующим утром (в следующее утро)” используйте предлог “-shi” (= в).
-irzi -rzi -irziz -rziz при помощи, посредством, используя

(суффикс творительного или эргативного падежа)
grish-irzi кровью На русский обычно не переводится. Используется обычно для выражения страдательного залога, использования инструментов, каких-либо средств и т.п. Также означает движение или передачу через какой-либо тип местности или среду: “Skâtubut dot-irzi” (= Они придут морем/по морю), “hîst Internet-irzi” (= отправить через Интернет, если бы он был в Средиземьи). Является аналогом английского “by”, но в значении “около” (напр.: by lake = у озера) используйте предлог “-dhog” (= рядом с) или “-or” (= в). В значении окончания действия к какому-либо времени используется предлог “-ik” (= до) или “-zi”.
-ish -sh -ishu -shu (суффикс винительного или объектного падежа) Uruk honat golug-ish Орк видит эльфа Не переводится предлогом, но является признаком прямого дополнения, в большинстве случаев совпадая с употреблением винительного падежа в языках, в которых он есть. С существительными он используется только для устранения многозначности, совпадая в большинстве случаев с именительным падежом (как в русском), так как в большинстве предложений подлежащее от дополнения можно отличить из контекста и порядка слов. Чаще используется с местоимениями. Можно использовать его в поэзии с вольным порядком слов.
-ishi -shi -ishiz -shiz в, во, внутрь, внутри, вглубь Mordor-ishi в Мордор Хотя сам Толкин перевёл это слово просто как “в”, лучше использовать значения следующие по списку, передающие смысл точнее. При ответе на вопрос вроде “где это?” лучше употреблять “-or” (= в). Можно заметить, что форма -shi 2-го склонения совпадает с другим предлогом (англ. “at”), который имеет сходное значение, но без оттенка принадлежности к внутренней части чего-либо или движения вглубь.
-it -ht -itu -htu за, позади, сзади druht за деревом *
-kurn -kurnu вокруг, около (время) masl-kurn вокруг шеи *
-la -laz после zabûrz-la после этой ночи часто пишется раздельно (см. комментарии к суффиксу -ik)
-lata -lataz под, ниже nût-lata под небом *
-lût -lûtu прочь из, из(нутри), вне, снаружи, из (материала) Orthanc-lût из Ортханка Указывает на движение за пределы, покидание места, а также трансформацию материала.
-nâdar -nâdaru среди, посреди glob-nâdar средь грязи *
-ob -b -obu -bu (суффикс родительного и притяжательного падежей) Nazgûl-ob (предмет) Назгула На русский язык не переводится буквально. Можно подумать, что добавление суффикса -b к существительному, оканчивающемуся на au, может привести к путанице с глаголом, оканчивающемуся на a, поставленному в будещее время (суффикс -ub). Но на самом деле таких глаголов нет в диалекте Shadowlandian. Если корень глагола, оканчивается на u, в будущем времени она превратится в долгую û, поэтому также не будет двузначности.
-or -r -oru -ru в (каком-либо месте) Orthanc-or в Ортханке Предпочтительно использовать вместо “-ishi” при ответе на вопрос вроде “где это?”
-ri -riz между lug-riz между башнями Scatha не привела примеров употребления этого предлога, поэтому я предположу, что при употреблении с двумя разными существительными, этот суффикс должен добавляться к каждому из них: “drâgh-ri agh ânghâsh-ri” (= между молотом и наковальней).
-sha -shaz (вместе/совместно) с Saruman-sha ** с Саруманом * Обозначает коллективность, совместное действие с другой личностью. Для выражения использования орудия лучше употреблять “-irzi”. Пример: “Убивай (с) топором” переводится как “az pilik-irzi”, “Убей эльфа с этим орком” = “az golug uruk-zasha” (также это пример плохого приказа, так как не ясно, нужнно ли убить эльфа с помощью этого орка, или убить и эльфа, и орка). Однако фразу “Поосторожней с этим топором, Углук!” можно перевести как “gakhumû pilik-zasha, Uglûk!”.
-shar -sharu среди, посреди glob-shar посреди грязи * Не используйте этот предлог, потому что его можно спутать с “shara” (человек) и “sharat” (быть тихим), и кажется он появился в словаре LOS по ошибке. Существует альтернатива “-nâdar”.
-shi -shiz в (указываеь на время) bûrz-shi ночью / во тьме  
-shi -shiz в (каком-либо месте) Mordor-shi в Мордоре  
-tala -talaz над, выше, поверх, сверх uzg-tala над землёй * Может указывать не только на высоту, но и на превышение пределов в количестве или времени.
-thu -thuz вне, сверх, за (пределами), по ту сторону (от) gothum-thu выше сил *
-tuk -tuku сквозь, через tau-tuk через лес * движение внутри объекта
-u -zu -uz*** -zuz (по направлению) к, в, (суффикс дательного падежа) Mordor-u** к Мордору * Отмечает движение к чему-либо, изменение принадлежности объекта. В Чёрной Речи часто употребляется с косвенными дополнениями, с переходными глаголами, требующими два дополнения, особенно с именами и местоимениями. Пример: “thrak nazg urukuz” = принеси кольцо (к) оркам.
-ugil -ugilu перед, до, к (какому-либо времени ânash-ugil до рассвета * Предпочтительно использовать “-ik”
-ulmakh -ulmakhu вдоль (по) mûl-ulmakh вдоль дороги, вдоль по дороге *
-ûr -zûr -ûru -zûru для
в течение
durub-ûr для повелителя Совпадает с английским “for”, поэтому обозначает также временной промежуток действия
-zash -zashu как, подобно glob-zash как дурак, подобно дураку  
-zi -ziz до, пока не ârsh-zi до завтрашнего дня * Указывает на время завершения продолжающегося действия


 Добавил Un4givenOrc для русских пользователей:

употребление предлогов полностью совпадает с английским языком, что может вызвать трудности при переводе с русского языка. При переводе на русский язык некоторые предлоги не переводятся вообще, а иногда переводятся другими частями речи (например, наречиями).

* эти слова часто употребляются как настоящие предлоги, перед существительными, а не суффиксы как большинство.

** заметьте, что в толкиеновском орочьем проклятии “sha Saruman” и “u Mordor” являются примером плохой грамматики. Правильно орк должен был сказать “Saruman-sha” и “Mordor-u”.

*** это можно спутать с суффиксом прошедшего времени -uz (следующий урок), см. мои комментарии на этот счёт в конце урока.

Также, прошу заметить, что в надписи на Кольце мы имеем “lata nut” вместо “nut-lata”. Предполагается, что нарушение правила было сделано для стихотворной рифмы. У вас уже должно быть много примеров, когда говорящий на Чёрной Речи располагал предлоги перед существительным. Следовательно, это правило, вероятно, является достаточно гибким, особенно в Искажённой Чёрной Речи. Но в целях изучения Чёрной Речи, пытайтесь следовать правилу как можно чаще при выполнении упражнений по переводу (по крайней мере в это время). Если предлог пишется раздельно перед существительным, то он всегда используется в форме единственного числа I склонения, а существительное ставится в Винительный/Объектный падеж (если не указано другое; в большинстве случаев окончание отбрасывается и совпадает с Именительным), а также в необходимое число.

Строго говоря, предлоги должны ставиться в форму множественного числа, если они относятся к существительному во множественном числе. Был замечен лишь один пример такого употребления – в надписи на Кольце, которая является классической Чёрной Речью, а не искажённой. (Не забывайте также, что полное Проклятье Кольца было переведено фанатом-толкиенистом, а не самим Толкиеном). В надписи Кольца используется форма множественного числа “ûru” (для), а также “ishiz” (в).

Отрывки из стиха на Кольце:

Gakh Nazgu Golug-durub-uru lata-nut.
Три Кольца для Эльфийских Королей под небом
[Слово “король” во множественном числе]

Udu Gazat-shakh-uru ulub ruz-ishiz gund-ob.
Семь для Лордов-гномов в их залах из камня.
[Во множественном числе слова “лорды” и “залы”]

Я думаю, что эти примеры показывают, что суффиксы множественного числа существительных добавляются после предлогов, а не факт наличия у предлогов формы множественного числа.

Более правильным будет называть эти слова послеслогами, но я буду придерживаться более знакомого термина.


Упражнение

Переведите следующие фразы в грамматически правильную Классическую Чёрную Речь.

 Добавил Un4givenOrc для русских пользователей:

В скобках даны предлоги в Чёрной Речи, которые нужно подставить в предложение.


Ты позовёшь злых эльфов в (u) Мордор.
Назгул приносит всех жестоких зверей из (ghâra) Гондора.*
Тролли найдут воина под (lata) небом.
Саурон правит при помощи (irzi) зла.
Углук соберёт стариков в (ishi) Удуне.
Он остаётся в (ishi) Мордоре.
Она одурачит троллей под (lata) небом.
Саруман зовёт из (ghâra) Ортханка.
Я стою рядом с (irzi) Назгулами.
Глупый тролль убивает неподалёку от (dhog) Ашлука.
Ты съешь животное вместе с (sha) Углуком.
Она принесёт орков из (ob) Мордора в (u) Морию.
Саруман властвует над (tala) всеми орками.
Воин убивает для (ûr) Саурона.
Он несёт кольцо для (ûr) эльфов.
Он несёт тролля между (ri) Мордором и Ортханком.

(*заметьте, что предлог относится к Гондору, а не к зверям!)


Соединение двух предлогов

 Изменено Un4givenOrc для русских пользователей:

Если вам придётся использовать два предлога вместе, нужно соединять их через дефис, хотя большинство орков никогда не будут этого делать в искажённой Чёрной Речи. Например, если вы хотите сказать “из-под стола” или перевести английскую фразу “into Mordor” (Mordor + in + to), то следует соединить предлоги следующим образом: “dâlt-lata-ghâra” и “Mordor-u-ishi”. Но из-за того что такая комбинация сложна для произношения, большинство орков скажут просто “lata dâlt-ghâra” и “u Mordor-ishi” соответственно.


Uu-u – многозначность суффикса “-u”

Если существительное оканчивается на u (напр “mau” = воин, “tau” = лес), ставьте предлог “к” перед существительным для пущей ясности (u mau = к воину). Для множественного числа существительных предполагалось использовать суффикс -uz (urbhuz = в горы), но опять его можно спутать, на этот раз с суффиксом прошедшего времени -uz (что означает “ghashuz”: “сжёг” или “к огням”?). Поэтому мой совет ставить предлог “к” перед существительным и в этом случае. Если существительное, оканчивающееся на u, нужно поставить во множественное число и добавить предлог “к”, нужно сказать, например, “u tauz” (в леса) вместо “tauzuz”.

Падежи существительных

Так как некоторые предлоги берут на себя функции падежей, и все они добавляются как суффикс к существительным и местоимениям, становясь таким образом послеслогами, я предполагаю, что в Классической Чёрной Речи существует более 30 падежей, подобно финно-угорским языкам. Но так как каждый такой суффикс обозначает одновременно и предлог и падеж, такое количество легче запомнить, чем если бы в языке было 4 – 8 падежей, используемых по-разному с разными глаголами и предлогами (как в русском). Однако в Искажённой Чёрной Речи и диалектах орков есть тенденция отказа от падежей и написания предлогов перед существительными и местоимениями, как в английском языке.

Фразовые глаголы

В английском языке добавление предлогов к некоторым глаголам изменяет их значение. Такие выражения называются “фразовыми глаголами”. В Чёрной Речи нет подобных конструкций. Каждый фразовый глагол английского языка должен иметь отдельный перевод в одно слово. Но, к сожалению, большинство из них пока не имеет перевода в словаре, поэтому пытайтесь заменить их синонимами.



<< Предыдущий урок Оглавление Следующий урок >>


 

Комментарии

Scatha  2014-09-24, 04:01:03

Has anyone here ever tried the lessons? I think some of them may need some corrections and updates.  Let me know your thoughts.


bjornaxen  2016-06-08, 09:43:39

The Swedish LARP-orcish Svartiska was not really created by a single LARP-group but by the community of orc-larpers where different groups created different dialects.


bjornaxen  2017-12-15, 00:47:08

On pronunciation

There is an orc name that begins with y - Yagul - in The War of the Ring (The History of Middle Earth, vol. 8 )

I think Tolkien pronounce Mordor in Elvish, it is after all an Elvish name meaning Black land in Sindarin (or "shadows" in Quenya). It has nothing to do with pronunciation of the Black Speech.

And what about the sounds in the excercise: -qu- in "throqu-" and sr- in "srinkh-"? Especially -qu- seems out of place. Why not spell it kv or kw?


Un4givenOrc  2017-12-16, 10:01:39
bjornaxen wrote:

And what about the sounds in the excercise: -qu- in "throqu-" and sr- in "srinkh-"?

Yes, there as some issues with qu, specially when next letter is also u. Could be also spelled like Q. It appears only in words borrowed from elvish languages. I will replace it with something else if I would create new dialect.

I think there is nothing special with sr, for me it's easier to say than thr (thrakatulat).


bjornaxen  2017-12-23, 02:02:28

Does comparative and superlative adjectives, and adverbs mark plural?

The dark tower - lugbûrz; the darkest tower - lugbûrzaz; the darkest towers - lugbûrzazu

urukû ghâshuzat hîzarz lug "the old orc quickly burned the tower"; urukûz ghâshuzut hîzarzu lug "the old orcs quickly burned the tower"
---
edit 1. I saw that the adverb is not agreeing in number so: urukfuz ghâshuzut hîzarz lug
---
edit 2. I saw that I somehow confused the adjectives - this i now corrected.


Un4givenOrc  2017-12-23, 15:41:51

I think adverbs do not have plural form. Adjectives do in any form


bjornaxen  2017-12-25, 21:08:42

There are two collective plural, -hai and -ûk. In contrast to the ordinary plural these can be used with people and races. So we have uruk-hai (the orc people) as the most famous example. And then in the lessons (IV) there is an example of the -ûk ending used with  sharkû (old man) > sharkûk "all old men". So both the collective plurals can be used with people and races but what is the difference between them. What does sharkû-hai mean "all the old people" or maybe "the society of old men" or is it equivalent to sharkûk? Or is it just gibberish.


bjornaxen  2018-01-01, 16:47:30

In lesson XIII on suffix order, verbs collective #6 two endings are given, -ûk and -âzh. The -âzh ending is used with a verb 'ufubulâzh' (will frighten them slightly). I cannot find this -âzh in the lessons or in the wordlists (there is "azh (conj, HORN) "also").

It seems to mean "slightly" but then it is not a collective. Confusing


Un4givenOrc  2018-01-09, 13:27:04
bjornaxen wrote:

n the lessons (IV) there is an example of the -ûk ending used with  sharkû (old man) > sharkûk "all old men". So both the collective plurals can be used with people and races but what is the difference between them. What does sharkû-hai mean "all the old people" or maybe "the society of old men" or is it equivalent to sharkûk? Or is it just gibberish.

I think it's Scatha's mistake.
I don't like interpretation of -hai as collective plural suffix nor simply as "folk", "people of" etc. However I can't offer better one.

bjornaxen wrote:

n lesson XIII on suffix order, verbs collective #6 two endings are given, -ûk and -âzh. The -âzh ending is used with a verb 'ufubulâzh' (will frighten them slightly). I cannot find this -âzh in the lessons or in the wordlists (there is "azh (conj, HORN) "also").

I've added this shortly before my HDD crashed. Online version of dictionary is not updated still.
Here -uuk and -aazh are something like verb's aspect (perfect and "partial" respectively). Interpretation of "-uuk" as "completely", "fully" is taken from A. Nemirovsky's analysis



Пожалуйста, Войдите или Зарегестрируйтесь чтобы оставлять комментарии.