Alphabet

In all sources Black Speech is written in Roman alphabet. But in Middle-Earth Nazgûl and orcs (if they could write) used other writing systems of course. What systems exactly is? It's a moot case. Ring was inscripted with Tengwar, but this calligraphy was suitable for Sauron and Nazgûl only. In Appendix E to LOTS it's said: “The Cirth in their older and simpler form spread eastward in the Second Age, and became known to many peoples, to Men and Dwarves, and even to Orcs, all of whom altered them to suit their purposes and according to their skill or lack of it.” Omniglot site mentions some uruk runes, which are almost the same as real-world's germanic runes Futhark. But in “Hobbit” and drafts to LOTR real runes was used for all languages. Some orcs of web-communities didn't feel good with using alphabets invented by elves and man, so they created alphabet of their own. But most users are satisfied with Roman.

  • Orkish alphabet   • Tengwar   • Cirth

How to write Black Speech in Tengwar?

It's known thar Ring Verse was carved using Tengwar, a writing system invented by Fëanor for Quenya and Sindarin, but usable for transcribing text in absolutely any language.

Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk, agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.

Those who never interested in elves and other nations for purposes other than eating can ask, what special is in Tengwar that you're going to teach it? It seems there are a lot of Tengwar fonts in the Web! Here is an answer. Almost all letters in character table of theese fonts are located utterly in wrong places, not where you expect to find them. Moreover diacritics signs (as in Arabic or Hebrew) are used instead of vowels. They are placed under or below previous (sometimes next) consonant. So it's much more harder to remember Tengwar keymappings than keymapping for the Black Speech alphabet described above. Therefore in 1999 the first word processor for Tengwar was created by Måns Björkman. Because this writing system can be used for transcribing text in any language, and all the languages have a different set of letters and sounds, various Tengwar modes are used. In other words some letters are different in distinct languages. Therefore in all programs for typing in Tengwar you should specify the mode (source language). After pressing Transcribe button you will probably get the nonsense like AE5,Exxw{%1EjY. Don't be afraid! Select this text and choose one of the installed Tengwar fonts. Ring Verse would look like Tolkien's example when using the Tengwar Annatar Italic font.

In most software you'll get the problems with cursor position and frobnitz as one above when you typing in the text with punctuation marks and long vowels. Probably this doesn't happen in English versions of Windows (and versions in other languages using Latin-1 = Windows-1252 code page as basic). These problems are never noticed in professional publishing and designer programs (e.g. from Adobe). In Tengwar-transcribing programs like TengScribe or YaTT duplicate the long vowels anyway, i. e. use uu instead of û etc. Ring Verse should be entered as following:

AE5,Ex26Yw1EjY`NzYAE5,Exxw{%1EjYAE5,Ex37zE1EjY`NzYX#w6Ykt^AT`Bz7q[T1EjY
The text about gates of Gondor from orkish alphabet example above will be encoded as:
X#17AU6Ekx7AYd`B1`BjT26U,Ex2{&6Uw&7`CZE1Y1E
and with font Tengwar Annatar Italic it will look like:


and like this when using Tengwar Quenya font:

In the Links section you'll find information about writing in Tengwar, software and fonts for it. In documentation files for Tengwar fonts there are a lot of useful information about history of Tengwar and usage of fonts including manual typing.



  • Orkish alphabet   • Tengwar   • Cirth


 

Comments


Please Log in or Register to leave a comment.

Алфавит

Во всех источниках Чёрная Речь записывается латинским алфавитом. Но в Средиземье назгулы и орки (если последние умели писать), естественно, пользовались другими системами письма. Какими? Вот тут вопрос спорный. Надпись на кольце была выполнена на Тенгваре, но такой каллиграфией занимался лишь Саурон и Назгулы. В приложении к “Властелину Колец” была замечена фраза: “Кирт – более старая и простая форма (письма), распространившаяся на восток во Второй Эпохе, и ставшая известной многим людям, гномам и даже оркам, каждые из которых приспособили их (руны Кирта) под свои цели в соответствии со своими навыками или их отсутствием”. Сайт Omniglot упоминает некие орочьи руны, которые полностью совпадают с реальными германскими. Но в “Хоббите” и черновиках “Властелина Колец” такие руны использовались для всех языков. Некоторые орки интернет-сообществ не очень-то хотели пользоваться алфавитами, придуманными эльфами и людьми, поэтому был изобретён собственный алфавит. Хотя большинство довольно и латинским алфавитом.

  • Алфавит орков   • Тенгвар   • Кирт

Как записать Чёрную Речь на Тенгваре?

Как известно, надпись на Кольце была выполнена на Тенгваре – системе письма, придуманной Феанором для квеньи и синдарина, но пригодной для записи текста на абсолютно любом языке.

Ash nazg durbatulûk, ash nazg gimbatul, ash nazg thrakatulûk, agh burzum-ishi krimpatul.

Те, кто никогда не интересовался эльфами и другими народами кроме как в качестве еды, могут спросить, что такого особенного в этой системе, что нужно учить писать с ее помощью? В сети же можно без проблем найти шрифты для Тенгвара! Дело в том, что почти все буквы в таблице символов таких шрифтов находятся совершенно не там, где их ожидают увидеть. Более того, для гласных, как правило, используются диакритические знаки (как в арабском языке и иврите) которые ставятся под или над предыдущей (для некоторых языков над/под следующей) согласной. Поэтому запоминать расположение клавиш для Тенгвара гораздо сложнее, чем для системы письма, описанной выше. Поэтому ещё в 1999 году был создан текстовый процессор для ввода текста в этой системе письма (автор Måns Björkman). Так как Тенгвар может использоваться для передачи текста любого языка, а в этих языках может быть разный набор букв и звуков, используются различные режимы Тенгвара. То есть некоторые буквы отличаются для разных языков. Поэтому во всех программах для ввода текста на Тенгваре необходимо указать режим (язык оригинала). После нажатия кнопки Transcribe вы скорее всего получите белиберду вроде AE5,Exxw{%1EjY. Не пугайтесь, выделяете текст и выбираете один из установленных шрифтов Tengwar. Со шрифтом Tengwar Annatar с курсивным начертанием надпись на Кольце больше всего похожа на приведённую Толкиеном.

При вводе текста в большинстве программ возникнут проблемы с переводом курсора и появлением абракадабры, приведённой выше, возникающей при использовании знаков препинания и долгих гласных. Вероятно, такое не случается только в английских версиях Windows и версиях других языков, использующих в качестве основной кодировки Latin-1 (Windows-1252). В профессиональных издательских/дизайнерских программах (например, от Adobe) подобной пакости не наблюдается никогда. В любом случае в программах вроде TengScribe или YaTT долгие гласные дублируйте, то есть пишите uu вместо û и т.п. Надпись на Кольце следует вводить следующим образом:

AE5,Ex26Yw1EjY`NzYAE5,Exxw{%1EjYAE5,Ex37zE1EjY`NzYX#w6Ykt^AT`Bz7q[T1EjY
Текст про врата Гондора из примера алфавита орков будет зашифрован так:
X#17AU6Ekx7AYd`B1`BjT26U,Ex2{&6Uw&7`CZE1Y1E
а выглядеть со шрифтом Tengwar Annatar Italic он будет так:


а вот так при использовании шрифта Tengwar Quenya:

В разделе Ссылки вы сможете найти материалы по вводу текста на Тенгваре, программы и шрифты. Как правило, в файлах документации по шрифтам Tengwar содержится много полезной информации по истории Тенгвара и использованию шрифтов, в т. ч. по ручному вводу текста.



  • Алфавит орков   • Тенгвар   • Кирт


 

Комментарии

bjornaxen  2017-12-15, 12:39:42

On alphabets it's  written "In all sources Black Speech is written in Roman alphabet". This is plainly wrong - the ring inscription is in tengwar.



Пожалуйста, Войдите или Зарегестрируйтесь чтобы оставлять комментарии.